• CLICK HERE To Join Broke Straight Boys & Instantly Get Full Access To Entire Site & 3 FREE bonus sites.

VA Benifits

gwr19569424

Reaction score
I finally got around to getting signed up with the local VA Hospital at American Lake near Tacoma back in April.
I really feel that I had better get enrolled since I am a vet and proudly served in the Army from 1976-1980 and discharged with an Honorable.
I have spoken to a few people the use the VA for medical insurance needs and they have sometimes really slammed the VA for their lack of quality care they give their vets, but since I have been dealing with them, I have had nothing but positive results and the health care team have been really great and have answered alot of my questions.
I went in for my Intake appointment and then a few weeks after that I was scheduled for a Pulmonary Function Test. The gentleman that did the test told me the same thing as the intake doctor told me that I really need to quit smoking, but neither one preached to me about it. I must confess that I did have lung cancer. Was diagnosed with it back in 2001. Went through all of the radiation and chemotherapy treatments and came out good to go. Looks as if I dodged this bullet. I am still smoking but have cut back quite a bit from what I was smoking.
Today, I went and had an eye exam done and got a prescription for new glasses after wearing the same pair for almost 14 years. Just couldn't afford it and not having any insurance. I am thankful for VA picking up the tab. The only thing I have to pay for is a copay on any medications that I need.

The reason I bring this up is because if I am not mistaking, Jayman was in the VA Hospital for a while according to one of his threads that he posted and I didn't see anywhere, where Jayman has had any negative experiences with them.

The VA is there to help us Veterans and we should all be thankful for that. I am.

Enough of my rambling on.

Gary